Emergency Decree Lifted in Three Provinces

Bangkok Post writes that according to Deputy Government Spokesman Supachai Jaisamut, the cabinet agreed today to lift the state of emergency in three more provinces.

The three provinces are Lampang in the North and Sakon Nakhon and Roi-et in the Northeast.

Supachai Jaisamut said that the cabinet reached this decision because there have been no unusual activities in the three provinces, and that the situation there is under control.

The emergency decree is, however, still in force in Bangkok and 15 other provinces.

The emergency decree was originally imposed in 24 provinces including Bangkok in the wake of the protests of the United Front for Democracy against Dictatorship. On July 6, the cabinet decided to lift the decree in five provinces – Nan, Kalasin, Nakhon Pathom, Si Sa Ket, and Nakhon Sawan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *