Hakan Alm new Chairman of Scandinavian Society Siam

Swedish businessman Hakan Alm was elected new Chairman of the Scandinavian Society Siam, replacing outgoing Chaiman Juha Pykko, at the Annual General Meeting of the Society held at Amari Boulevard Hotel on May 21, 2003.
     The AGM also elected seven new members to join the board: Jaana Kopra, Ake Aronsson, Thomas Raldorf , Jon Albert Risahagen, and substitutes Mattias Nordin, Sari Mahosenaho and Anne Marie Hauslo. Three members of the old board were re-elected: Charlotte Weber, Gregers Moller and substitute Thor Jorgen Udvang.
     The seven members, who left the board, were Party Committee Chairwoman Kari Aamodt, Niclas Uddmann in charge of advertising sales, Jimmy Jensen in charge of the website and Bulletin Editor Dorthe Kettel Thomsen, together with Treasurer Johan Sahlen, Party Committee member Eeva Fomin and Membership registrar Maria Alveryd who had all three left Thailand during the year and thus not served in the full term.
     Auditor Hakan Skoglund was re-elected with former treasurer Gunnar Sjobeck as his substitute.
     At the AGM a proposal to include ‘charity’ as a purpose was withdrawn by the out-going Chairman after several members had spoken against it. Membership fees were approved with a slight majority – 23 against 22 with two abstainers – and will now be increased from baht 1,500 to 2,000 for families and baht 750 to 1,000 for individuals.
     With great applause the meeting confirmed honorary membership to Aks Ammundsen, John Dyrholm and Tove Bjerkan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *