Thailand reconsiders visa fee exemption for Scandinavians, others

Thailand’s Immigration Bureau will ask the Foreign Ministry to reconsider the decision to exempt visa fees for scan_th_visafeestourists and travelers from 17 countries, including Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden.

Apart from Scandinavians, citizens of Australia, England, the United States, Germany, France, Canada, the Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, Israel, United Arab Emitrates, Spain and New Zealand also do not pay visa fees traveling to Thailand.

Immigration commissioner Pol Lt-Gen Panu Kerdlarpphol explained that the reason for reconsideration was that the 17 countries still charge visa fees on Thai nationals.

The visa fee exemption are supposed to be reciprocal.

Source: Thai PBS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *