Norwegian Conductor to Celebrate Grieg Year 2007 in Malaysia

A Norwegian conductor Arild Remmereit will wield baton at three concerts in mid-June performed by the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, to mark the centenary of the death of the great Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg in 2007 in Malaysia.
Remmereit will bring a whiff of his homeland to three concerts in Malaysia on June 15 -17 with a selection of music combining Norway’s most famous playwright and most famous composer; The Peer Gynt Suite by Edvard Grieg, works by Koussevitzky, Stravinsky’s version of four authentic Norwegian melodies as arranged for a never-released film about the wartime occupation of Norway, as well as the first of Carl Nielsen’s six symphonies.

Concert details:

Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
Arild Remmereit conductor
Wolfgang Steike double bass

GRIEG Peer Gynt (selection)
KOUSSEVITZKY Double Bass Concerto in F sharp minor (Op.3)
STRAVINSKY Four Norwegian Moods
NIELSEN Symphony No.1 in G minor (Op.7)

Fri 15 Jun 07, 8.30pm, Sat 16 Jun 07, 8.30pm, Sun 17 Jun 07, 3.00pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *