Thailand State of Emergency Eased Back – But Not in Bangkok

Northern provinces of Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, and north-eastern Ubon Ratchatani have had the emergency rule lifted, Bangkok Post reports.

However, Bangkok will still act under the laws of the emergency rules. The state of emergency was initially declared in April in Bangkok, after anti-government protestors broke into the Parliament building to press their demands for early elections.

The Prime Minister’s orders leave only seven provinces under the emergency decree: Bangkok, Pathum Thani, Nonthaburi, Udon Thani, Nakhon Ratchasima, Khon Kaen and Samut Prakan.

The emergency laws ban public gatherings of more than five people and allow the authorities to detain suspects for 30 days without charge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *