Indonesian President Nominated For Nobel Peace Prize

The nominees for the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize have been announced and the prestigious Norwegian peace prize might be going to Indonesia, as President Yudhoyono and former Finnish President Martti Ahtisaari are on the list for a joint award for helping secure a peace deal in Aceh.
It was US Congressman Robert Wexler who nominated President Yudhoyono for the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize, saying he deserves the award due to his “central role as peacemaker in resolving the Aceh conflict and unwavering commitment to Indonesian democracy.”
As a member of the national assembly, the congressman is eligible to submit a nomination. The laureate’s name will be announced on a Friday on mid-October and the award ceremony held at the Nobel Institute building on December 10th, the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel prizes.
Unlike entertainment awards where there are only small numbers of announced nominees, the committee accepts more than 100 names each year. This year 191 nominees were accepted, including former US Secretary of State Collin Powell and U2 rocker Bono.
Members of international courts of law, social scientists at universities/research institutes, members of national assemblies/governments, and former Nobel Peace Prize laureates are eligible to nominate a candidate as recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize.
The Peace prize is awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee which in turn appointed by the parliament of Norway. The committee is independent and not bound to take direction from parliament, their five members are generally former Norwegian MPs and other people with political knowledge and relevant experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *