Thailand Prepares for Earthquakes


The Natural Resources and Environment Ministry (NREM) has announced that it is including 1,406 villages in 22 provinces as part of a National Earthquake Relief Plan.

These villages, located in 308 districts across the country, are situated on Thailand’s 13 fault lines. The most worrying faults are in Chiang Rai’s Mae Chan district and Kanchanaburi’s Si Sawat district, including the one near the Srinakharin Dam.

The ministry and the Department of Mineral Resources (DMR) are jointly planning to implement a long term disaster relief plan to cope with possible quakes in the future.

NREM Minister Suwit Khunkitti called on the public not to panic over the relief plan, saying that the Kingdom was in no way situated on or near the world’s major earthquake faults.

The first phase of the plan will be implemented in villages in the North and Northeast next year, and in the West, central region and the South in 2012.

For further details and a list of ‘Red Zone’ provinces, as well as those in which risk analysis has been completed to date, click here.

Risk analysis has not yet been conducted in Phuket or other neighboring provinces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *