Norway and Vietnam take up seats as non-permanent members of UN Security Council

Un security Council national flag installation ceremony

Norway has been elected by the General Assembly for the 2021-2022 term and the country took up seat as non-permanent members in the United Nations Security Council on 4 January 2021. Vietnam was elected last year for the term 2020-2021 and the two countries will sit together for the first year.

The Security Council has 15 members. Five permanent members, the US, France, the UK, China, and Russia who have veto powers and 10 non-permanent members, five of which are elected each year for a two-year term.

Norway was elected together with Ireland, India, Kenya, and Mexico and the countries will sit together for the whole period. Vietnam, Estonia, Niger, Tunisia, and Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines will be a part of the first year.

Norway is a founding member of the UN and it’s been 20 years since Norway last held a seat on the Security Council, in 2001–2002. The country has been an unwavering and consistent supporter of the United Nations and the rules-based international system since the foundation and Norway will give priority in the Security Council to areas where Norway has particular expertise.

Mona Juul, Norway’s Ambassador to the UN said at the national flag installation ceremony that international law and human rights will form the basis for their efforts. She said, “Peace diplomacy, the inclusion of women, protection of civilians, and climate and security, will be our guiding priorities.”

Read the full article here

About Mette Larsen

Guest writer

View all posts by Mette Larsen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *