Scandinavia Votes Against EU Shoe Tax

The 25 European Union member states have voted on imposing duties on cheap leather shoes from China and Vietnam, but only three nations – Belgium, Slovakia and Malta voted in favour.
Three times as many, namely nine countries voted against, including Sweden and the other Nordic countries as well as Ireland and Slovenia.
Eleven countries avoided voting including Italy and other nations, which are home to most of the traditional European shoemakers seeking EU sanctions against unfair competition from Asian rivals.
Reports claim that the abstinence suggests unhappiness about EU’s proposed exemptions made for sports and children’s shoes, which could give Asian producers a loophole to rebrand exports.
The commission is to take a formal decision on the measures on March 22.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *